Hopp til globalmeny Hopp til hovedmeny Hopp til innhold Hopp til søk
Photo: Marianne Mathiesen.

Bergen University College is merging

From January 1 2017, Bergen University College merges with Stord/Haugesund University College and Sogn og Fjordane University College to form Western Norway University of Applied Sciences.

With about 16,000 students, the new institution will be one of the largest higher education institutions in Norway. The new institution will offer Bachelor, Master and PhD programmes primarily within education, engineering and health and social sciences.

The ambition is to build stronger and more solid academic and research environments who will interact nationally and internationally. The aim is to become a visible actor on the international higher education arena through increased international cooperation and engagement in externally funded projects within education and research.

Students at undergraduate and postgraduate level will have access to high quality exchange opportunities abroad and staff-mobility will be encouraged.

Because of the merger, a process of renegotiating all international agreements will start from 2017 as part of an assessment of existing international links and cooperation in the new institution.

The new University College in brief:

  • Approximately 16,000 students
  • Five campuses: Bergen, Førde, Haugesund, Sogndal and Stord.
  • Existing international agreements and projects will be continued
  • The Rector’s office will be in Bergen and the Deputy Rectors will have seats in and responsibility for their campuses
  • Name in English: Western Norway University of Applied Sciences
  • Name in Norwegian: Høgskulen på Vestlandet
  • Abbreviation: HVL